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Director's Desk
by Kirk Martelon, Exec. Secretary/Director

Jeff  Carlson  Joins  Board

Dealer Board – New Member and New Officers
Elections  were  held July 10, 2001 for  the Motor Vehicle   Dealer  Board 2001-2002  officers.  Steve Perkins

of  Centennial Leasing  and Sales in  Lakewood  was  elected  President of  the  Board.  First Vice President is Fred
Emich of Auto Nation USA in Denver.  Lee Payne of  Planet Honda in Golden was elected Second Vice President.

Emich, Payne and  new  Board  member Jeff Carlson  of Glenwood  Springs  Ford  are  the  new vehicle
representatives to the Dealer Board.  Perkins and Mark Striegnitz  of  Mark’s Auto Sales  in Denver represent used
vehicle dealers.  One  of  the  used vehicle  member  positions is vacant.  Public members of  the Board are Jim Varner,
Gretchen Eberhardt and Greg Sopkin.

Mike Faricy  (former Board President) left the Board after his  term  expired  on June 30th.  After selling his
dealership, Mike Wieman resigned  his seat  after 1 year of  service on the Board.  The Board  and Auto Industry
Division staff extends their good wishes and gratitude to Mike and Mike.

Governor Owens  re-appointed Jim  Varner to a three-year term and  appointed  Jeff  Carlson to a  three-year
term.

Board  members  are  appointed by  the Governor for staggered  three-year terms.  The Board  has the  power
to grant, deny, suspend, revoke  and fine dealer and salesperson  licenses.  The  Board also is empowered to adopt
regulations that have the force of  law as well as conduct hearings and monthly  meetings.  The   license  fees are also set
by the Dealer Board each fiscal year.

The  Dealer Board  typically  meets the second Tuesday of each  month for a business meeting and the fourth
Tuesday of each month for hearings.  The  meetings are open to people in the industry and the general public.

    Jeff  is a  Colorado native  born and raised in Greeley, Colorado.  He graduated from
University  of   Northern  Colorado  with  a   BA  in  Political  Science.  Jeff   is married  to Nancy
Barney  Carlson  and  has  two  grown  children,  Zach  and  Amanda.  Nancy  is  a  Mom,  fund-raiser,
has her  real estate license,  and  is a  great homemaker.  Zach works  at the dealership with  Jeff  in
sales and  Amanda  just graduated   from Wake Forest University.  She  wil l move  to New York
and  become a  business  consultant  for Accenture.  Jeff   states  he loves  the  automobile business
and  has been in   it  for  28 years,  6  with  Ford Motor  Co. and  22 as  a dealer.  Jeff’s  professional
memberships include  chairman  for  the  Ford  Dealer  Council  Zone  and  Director  for  the Ford
Dealer Advertising  Fund.   In  t he  past Jeff  has  been  the Vice President,  Secretary  and Director
for  the Colorado Automobile Dealers Association.   He is  currently  the Chairman  for  CADA  for
2001-2002.

In  his  spare  time  Jeff  enjoys  fishing,   flying,   hunting, and   traveling.  He  plays  golf   but  hasn’t  figured  out how
to enjoy  it yet.
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Investigation Insight
by Mary Marvin, Investigator Supvr.

Compliance Corner
by Mary Marvin,Compliance Mgr.

Licensing Leads
by Larry Dyslin, Licensing Manager

:

The Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act requires the
disclosure  of   a  Privacy Policy  regarding  non-public
consumer information.  All buy-here/pay-here dealers
must notify  all customers that are still making payments
to the dealer.  All dealers  assisting in arranging finance  for
a customer and  all dealers who take a credit  application
from  a customer must comply  with this new  law.  The
purpose  of  this   act  is to  insure that financial institutions
respect the  privacy of  their customers and  protect the
security of  non- public personal  information.  Non- public
information  includes,  but  is not  limited to, account  balance
information, payment  history  and  credit  card  information;

information a consumer  provides on  an  application  to
obtain  a  loan  or  any  information  that  a  consumer  provides
to a dealership or  information  otherwise  obtained   in
connection with  collecting  or  servicing  a  credit account.
As soon  as  it  is  determined  that you will  be  involved in
the  financing  of  a  vehicle, before  a credit application is
taken,  the  consumer  should  be  advised of  your   privacy
policy.   For  detailed  information  you  may  wish  to contact
your  dealers  association.

Canadian  vehicles  are  infiltrating  the  States.   Make
sure  to  thoroughly check your purchases.  More on
Canadian vehicles in  the  next  issue.

Many  dealers are  still  confused  with  the Colorado
State Statute  regarding title delivery  and  the  issuance
of  60-day temporary  registration  permits.  Colorado
State Statute, 42-6-112 has not changed.  42-6-112
C.R.S., states “in order to  facilitate  initial  registration
of  a   vehicle, any deale r of  motor   vehicles, shall  have

not more than thirty  days from the  date of  sale of such
vehicle  to  deliver  or  facilitate  the  delivery  of   the  certificate
of   title   to a  purchaser  or  the  holder  of  a  chattel   mortgage
on such  motor vehicle.”  Therefore, even  though  the
temporary   registration  permit  time  frame  has  been
increased  to  60  days,  all dealers  must  deliver  title  within
thirty  days.

We  have  received some license  renewals  where the
dealer  or  salesperson  is  reporting  a  criminal  conviction
that occurred several  months or  even  a year ago.  The
Dealer  Law  and  Board  Regulations  require   any  licensed
dealer, wholesaler  or  salesperson  to give  the  Board  written
notice o f  any  conviction of   a   felony  or   any      crime
pursuant to Title 18, articles 3, 4, or 5 of  the Colorado
Criminal Code.   Such   notice   must   be  given  within  30
days after  receiving  final  judgment from the court.  The
licensee  is  responsible  for  providing  complete  information
including copies of  final  judgments  and pre-sentence
reports.  The  law  also  states  that  failure to provide  the
required  information   is grounds  for  suspension or
revocation of  a  license.  We are asking all dealers and
managers  to cover  this   requirement in  staff  meetings  so
no  one  has  a  license   revoked   because  of   failure  to
provide  the   required   notification.   Your   cooperation will

be  appreciated.
Colorado  law includes trailers in the definition of

motor  vehicles.  Therefore, any dealer who sells trailers
must be licensed.  If  the trailers are new, the dealer must
have  a  franchise  or  letter  from  the manufacturer
appointing   the dealer  as  an  authorized  dealer.  The
manufacturer  must   also  be  licensed  whether  or  not  they
are  located  in  Colorado.  When  a  dealer   purchases  boats
as  a  package  with  the  trailer  included,  it  is  the dealer’s
responsibility  to  make  sure  that  the various  manufacturers
of  boat  trailers  are licensed to do business in Colorado.
Check with  your  boat supplier  to obtain a  list of  trailer
manufacturers  and  ask them  if  they  are licensed  in
Colorado.  This will   help you   avoid  problems   and
possibly  complaints from your  customers  when  their
application  for  title  is  rejected  by  the  county clerk
because  the  manufacturer  is  not  licensed.
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State Sales Tax Rate Reduction for Heavy Trucks
(HB 00-1259)

Beginning July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002, the
Colorado  State  sales  tax  rate   will  change  from  2.9%
to .01% on  purchases or new  leases of new  and used
heavy trucks.  This  rate   reduction  is  temporary   and
applies  when the excess  revenue fund  balance  exceeds
$350,000,000 (as adjusted  annually).

The  rate reduction only applies to state sales tax -
not to  any local  jurisdiction  sales tax.

Heavy  trucks  include  new  or  used commercial
trucks,  truck tractors,  tractors ,  semitrailers, or   vehicles
used  in  combination   there  with  that  have  a  gross  vehicle
weight rating (GVWR) in excess of 26,000 pounds.

Permanent  and Temporary Title Fee Increase
(HB 01-1100)

Effective September 1, 2001, there will be a $.70
increase to all title applications. In addition to this permanent
increase,  there will  be a  temporary title  fee increase of
$2.30 on  new  title  applications  effective until  September
1, 2004.  This temporary increase does not apply  to
refinance  or  duplicate title  applications.

Summary  of  new  title fees  as  of   September  1,
2001:

New title application $ 9.50
Refinance $ 7.20
   (includes name change, adding or dropping

name)
Duplicate title application $ 8.20

COMMERCIAL  VEHICLE  DEFINITION
(SB 01-005)

Effective August 16, 2001, a use-based definition
for commercial   vehicles  will be  established.  Vehicle
owners  will be  required  to declare,  at time of

registration, whether  or  not  their  vehicle(s) is used for
commercial   purposes.

BROOMFIELD COUNTY
(SB 01-102)

Effective  November 15, 2001,  the  City  and  County
of   Broomfield  becomes  a  designated  agent of  the
Department of  Revenue  for  the  purpose  of  titling,
registration of  vehicles  and  the  collection of  vehicle
ownership  fees  and taxes.

Legal  Name(s) Required  on  All  Title Applications

Effective  August 1, 2001  all  title  applications
should be completed  in  the  legal  name  of  the
individual(s).  Vehicles  titled  in  the  name  of  a  business
or trust should  have the full name of  the entity on the
application.

The   Application   for  Title  and/or  Registration (DR
2411) will  be  modified to indicate  that  the legal name
is required with  a brief  definition  of  legal name  and
requesting that the  name  is  the  same  as  listed on  the
individual(s)  driver’s license, if  applicable.

A copy of  the  driver’s license is not required to be
submitted  with  the  title  application when  the application
is in the name of an individual.

Titles and Registrations Legislative Update
By Mary Tuttle and Chris Lowe

Share The Wheels
Owners, managers, salespersons and office staff

can all benefit from reading Wheels.  The articles
provide information on topics that affect the many
different employee functions.  Keep you staff
knowledgeable, “Share the Wheels”.
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DEALER  BOARD  ACTIONS

C A L E N D A R
Dealer Board Business Meeting: Second Tuesday of each
month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  Lakewood.

Dealer Board Hearings: Fourth Tuesday of each month, if
necessary, at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  Lakewood.

License Law Seminar - Colorado Springs: First Tuesday
of each month at 10:00 am, 3650 Austin Bluffs Pkwy,  Ste.
188, in the Shops of the Bluffs Mall, Colorado Springs.

License Law Seminar - Lakewood: Third Tuesday of each
month at 9:00 am, 1881 Pierce St,  in the Department of
Revenue Building, Conf. Rm. C, Lakewood.

Note: Times and locations are subject to change.
Cal l the Auto Industry Division at (303) 205-5604.

Please note:  While every effort  is  made  to  make the
information  in Wheel s  as  accurate and  helpfu l as possible, it is
not  offered  as  a  substitute  for legal  advice.

Gary Anderson, dba Anderson Motors-Burlington #8604 – failure to perform a written agreement. LICENSE REVOKED.
William Hamilton, dba Hamilton Motors -Englewood - #8174 –failure to deliver title in 30 days, failure to issue a
certificate of emissions compliance at time of sale.  LICENSED REVOKED.
Jim Glibertson, dba Hwy 50 Auto Plex-Pueblo #8416 – Odometers and misrepresentation.  $2,000 FINE, 6-MONTH
PROBATION - RESTITUTION.
Michael Burgio, dba Big Mikes Auto & Truck Center-Berthoud #4305 – failure to deliver title (8 counts), failure to honor
written agreement and place of business.  LICENSE REVOKED
Ed Schmidt, dba Schmidt Imports-Sterling #0311 – failure to deliver title, written agreement, fraudulent transaction,
misrepresentation, aggravated  motor vehicle theft, possession of a stolen vehicle, defrauding a secured creditor, place of
business.  LICENSE REVOKED.
Arvin Martensen, Salesperson – fraudulent business  practice, violating any state or federal  laws and acting as an unlicensed
dealer.  LICENSE REVOKED.
Pat Welsh, Salesperson.  LICENSE DENIED.
Bruce Devenyns, Salesperson-Misrepresenting  himself as salesperson, fraudulent business practice and unlicensed
salesperson. LICENSE SUMMARILY SUSPENDED.
Mohammad Safi, Salesperson – Criminal record and material misstatement.  LICENSE REVOKED.

DEALER BOARD MEMBERS
President, Steve Perkins

First Vice President, Fred Emich
Second Vice President, Leo J. Payne

Gretchen Eberhardt, Jeff Carlson, Greg Sopkin,
Mark Striegnitz, Jim Varner

Executive Secretary, Kirk J. Martelon

AUTO INDUSTRY DIVISION
Division Director, Kirk J. Martelon
Licensing Manager, Larry Dyslin

Investigator Supervisor, Mary Marvin
Public Information Officer , Kaye Kopecky

Correspondence is welcome.  Address to:
Auto Industry Division

1881 Pierce Street, Lakewood, CO  80214
Phone: (303) 205-5604      FAX: (303) 205-5977

E-mail: dealers@spike.dor.state.co.us

Internet:  www.mv.state.co.us/dealer.html


